Let the train take the strain….or not…

934958_10151345501827161_968782208_n

For complicated reasons I found myself earlier this week having to drive to Waterville, Country Kerry and leave the car there. This involved then getting back to Sallins, by public transport. To go there I drove, which took a tad over 4 1/2 hours. Coming back was somewhat different. I got a bus from Waterville at 0735 (€17.50), a five minute walk from the house. which left me at Killarney Railway station for a train at 0936 (a whopping €62 for this one) This ancient rattletrap eventually dropped us all at Mallow and we joined another train getting into Heuston at 1255. I got a train to Sallins at 1320 (€7) which dropped me at 1350 getting me back to my door at 1400.  A total time from door to door 0725-1400 or 6h 35m.

As to cost : well I have the car so its the additional running cost that matters for this journey. I topped up the tank with just under €30 of petrol in a petrol station on the Sallins Road. This topup was almost gone on arrival. Contrast that with €86.50 …

Yes, I know billions have gone into roads. Yes, I know that. I also know that when it takes three times as much money and half as long again on bus and train which mode of transport I would suggest to people. If we want people to use public transport, lets make it a viable alternative – if its going to be slower make it cheaper, if its going to be more expensive make it faster than going one ones own.

2 thoughts on “Let the train take the strain….or not…

  1. Bill Noonan

    I agree ! The only reason that I would use long distance train(CIE) or bus (BE) is on a no other option basis. Free travel paid by the taxpayer will be one such option. On this basis if I was CFO of CIE/BE I would deduct that the Company product has a dearth of paying customers, and as a taxpayer I would say that I was underwriting a perpetual bummer.

    Reply
  2. FERGUS O'ROURKE

    It does not totally undermine your point, but I cannot help noticing the failure to distinguish marginal from total costs. It is not always the case that it is “the additional running cost that matters”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

