Fifty Shades of Property Tax Grey (well, brown)

So the revenue have produced a heatmap of the country, at DED level, to give you a guide as to the property tax you will pay. Or, not.

Its fifty shades of brown …well, 7 anyhow. Take a look at Kerry and Kildare (yes, yes, I have two houses…one in Kildare where I live the other the old family home in Kerry) Anyone want to tell me that this is clear? Why not 7 distinct shades.  Yes, one can increase the contrast but then if its too high and one is on the border of two bands you cant see….

Screen Shot 2013-03-10 at 14.40.01

Screen Shot 2013-03-10 at 14.36.48

Contrast this dogs breakfast with some of the work by AIRO and we see night and day….

Im going to send a copy of The Visual Display of Quantitative Information  by  Edward Tufte, the best book ever on graphics, to the revenue for Easter… Maybe the Troika have insisted we sell off all our colours or something….

7 thoughts on “Fifty Shades of Property Tax Grey (well, brown)

  1. machholz

    Reblogged this on Machholz's Blog and commented:
    Brian, It doesn’t matter what colour this poll tax is. I will not pay one cent and I will defend my home with all available means against any puppet of the troika and the faceless financial slave traders.
    Great article !

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Fifty Shades of Property Tax Grey (well, brown) » Bock The Robber

  3. Oldschool

    Following the instructions on the left of the screen to zoom and click worked for me. The popup box gave me the valuation band I was looking for, and presumably because I’m on the border of two areas, also gave a “1 of 2” toggle which was useful. I’ve seen worse!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

